Nature and Adventure

Dr. Sun Yat Sen's Penang Base

The base was a shophouse located at no 120 Lebuh Armenian. First owner was a Straits Chinese named Cheah Joo Seang, a trustee of the Cheah Kongsi. The shophouse has kept its historic interior with carved screens and air wells. From 1909—1911, it was the base of Dr Sun Yat Sen, leader of the historic Chinese Revolution, and the headquarters of the Southeast Asian branch of the Tung Meng Hooi. The local Chinese of that time supported Dr Sun Yat Sen in the great movement against the Manchu government and the foreign imperialists in China. In 1911, China became the first republic in Asia and Dr Sun Yat Sen became its first provisional president.

Forestry Museum

Located within the 100-hectare Forest Recreation Park, the museum was built using various species of wood and other forest produce and houses a collection of forest produce from all over the country.The park features footpaths and flowing streams and is home to countless species of flowering plants, ferns, insects, birds, butterflies, snakes and lizard.

Fort Cornwallis

A historic site, the place where Captain Francis Light first landed on the island in 1786. Originally a wooden fortress, it was later erected in stone by convict labour in 1804-5. There is currently an open-air amphitheatre inside the fort. Opening hours : 8.30am - 7.00pm Admission : RM1 per person

Goddess of Mercy Temple

One of the oldest chinese temples in Penang, the kuan yin teng or the Goddess of Mercy Temple was built in 1800 by early immigrant settlers from china. The building is decorated with intricately crafted dragons and stone sculptured lions which are said to be its guardians. The temple is flocked by pilgrims and followers all year round especially during the three anniversaries of kuan yin which are on the 19th day of the second, sixth and ninth lunar month.

Kampung Seronok

The name 'Kampung Seronok' originated from a suggestion by an english engineer, d.w. Grehan who had, on a number of occasions, shared in the joy and merrymaking of the kampung folk, in the days shortly after the japanese surrender. What makes it unique is the fact that it is virtually 'open' to visitors who are free to observe and participate in the various cultural activities, traditional games and rural economic pursuits of the people, showcasing the intrinsic values of traditional village life.

Kapitan Kling Mosque

Named after the Indian Muslim merchant, the "Kapitan Kling" (headman) Caudeer Mohudeen who built it in the early 19th century. It features an ocher yellow facade and dome-shaped minaret reflecting Moorish Islamic influence. Permission to enter must be obtained from mosque officials.

Places of Interest

Nature and Adventure


Bukit Mertajam

Island and Beaches



Seberang Jaya

Bukit Mertajam


Dining and Entertainment


Sports and Recreation

Travel Services


Pulau Tikus


Malaysia Hostel Search