|Places of interest
nature and adventure
the first amusement park in the fms opened in the 1920s when run
run shaw of shaw brothers fame came from hong kong with two reels
of silent movies to entertain the miners. It was renamed coronation
park after the coronation of king george v. Located at theatre
the fort was built by the perak prison convicts for the use of the
perak armed police in 1881, under the supervision of col. Walker.
The brick magazine was completed in 1885 and two years later, a
guardroom and gun-shed were erected. The fort was named after the
earl of carnarvon, secretary of state for the colonies (1874-1878).
Located at the main road, taiping.
founded in 1880 as yeng wah (chinese pauper) hospital by the mining
community in the face of the outbreak of beri-beri, it was taken
over by the government and relocated to this site in 1881. A large
cluster of buildings survives from the 1880s. Located along the
main road, taiping.
|Guan hin chan, 19 cross street
this well preserved building was the premise of a cigar factory
started by burmese chinese. In the 1930s, it employed burmese women
to roll cigars from moulmein tobacco. During the japanese
occupation, the occupying forces used it to store tin ore.
| Jebong forest
this forest reserve at kuala sepetang showcases the picturesque
mangrove swamp which harbours a unique variety of birds and
animals. Just follow the wooden walkway available throughout the
forest. But if you want to explore further into the forest, make
sure you obtain a permit from the perak forestry department.
|Kapitan chung keng kooi's
a prominent tin-miner and leader of the taiping hakka community,
chung keng kooi (1829-1901) was also a kapitan china of perak and
sat on the perak state council. His eldest son chung ah yong, who
resided here, was a member of the taiping sanitary board and "all
the important racing clubs". He employed a european trainer for his
prize-winning race horses and maintained his stables at 12,000
dollars a year. Located at barrack road, taiping.